Indian nationals needs no permit to visit the Andamans.


Entry Formalities for foreigners

  1. Foreigners are permitted to visit the following Islands without requirement of Restricted Area Permit- (1) East Island (2) North Andaman (3) Smith Island (4) Curfew Island (5) Stewart Island (6) Landfall Island (7) Ayes Island (8) Middle Andaman (9) Long Island (10) Strait Island (11) North Passage (12) Baratang (13) South Andaman (14) Swaraj Dweep (15) Shaheed Dweep (16) Flat Bay (17) North Sentinel Island (18) Little Andaman (19)Chowra (20) Tilang Chong Island (21) Teressa (22) Katchal (23)Nancowry (24) Kamorta (25) Pulomilo (26) Great Nicobar (27) Little Nicobar (28) Narcondum Island (29) Interview Island & (30) Wiper Island(Day visit only).
  2. Citizens of Afghanistan, China and Pakistan and foreign nationals having their origin in these countries would continue to require the Restricted Area Permit to visit Andaman & Nicobar Islands. In such cases, the Restricted Area Permit (RAP) would be granted only after prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs. If any such national is found visiting these Islands without the Restricted Area Permit, necessary penal action would be taken under the relevant provisions of the Foreigners Act, 1946.
  3. Myanmarese nationals who want to visit Mayabunder and Diglipur, can do so only after prior permission of the Ministry of Home Affairs.
  4. Visits to Tribal areas are permitted only after obtaining a Tribal Pass issued by the Deputy Commissioners of South Andaman, North & Middle Andaman and Nicobar.
  5. The visits to the forest areas are subject to the restrictions imposed by the Chief Wild Life Warden, A & N Islands and the guidelines issued by the Ministry.
  6. For visits to the National Parks, the visiting parties would invariably be accompanied by a guide nominated by the Chief Wild Life Warden of A & N Islands and should follow the code of conduct in the Park areas.
  7. In case of violation of National Marine Park Code suitable fine may be imposed on the offenders by the A & N Islands Administration.
  8. Visit to the Marine Park area is to be restricted to small boats or glass bottom boats. No oil leakage is to be allowed in the area.
  9. Scuba Diving and underwater Photography is to be permitted in the identified areas but no removal of Corals, Fish or any other item from the Marine Park is permitted.
  10. Taking photographs of the Aboriginal Tribes (Jarawas/Sentinelese/ Great Andamanese / Onge / Shompen) in the Tribal Reserves is not permitted. It is an offence punishable under PAT Regulation 1956.
  11. Camping on sea beaches and sleeping in the jungle is strictly prohibited.
  12. No one should remain on the sea beach and jungle after sunset.
  13. Do not drive any vehicle without valid International Driving License Wearing of helmet is compulsory for two wheeler riders and pillion riders.
  14. For immigration related information, please contact:
    Foreigners Registration Officer
    Immigration and Foreigners Branch,
    Ground Floor, Office of Superintendent of Police (South Andaman).
    Phone Nos.: (03192)237793 and (03192)234472 with extensions 358 & 374.
  15. In any emergency, please contact the concerned police station of the area. The telephone numbers are: Police Control Room (for Port Blair Area) (100), PS Swaraj Dweep (282405), PS Shaheed Dweep (282602), PS Baratang (279503), PS Kadamtala (267005), OP Long Island (278611) PS Rangat (274239), OP Betapur (270111), PS Billiground (270523), PS Mayabunder (273203) PS Diglipur (272223), PS Kalighat (278149), PS Hut Bay (284208),PS Katchal (293464),PS Teressa (294039), PS Campbell Bay (263464), PS Nancowry (263464).

For More Information



Tourist Information Centre : Directorate of Tourism, Andaman & Nicobar Administration Port Blair, 744101 Phone: 03192 - 232694/232747(F)


Tourist Information Centre : Veer Savarkar International Airport, Port Blair, 744101 Phone: 03192 - 232414

Download Restricted Area Permit (RAP) Form Here

Scroll to Top